New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve never really been in the habit of making any resolutions for the New Year. If ever I have made any, they’ve always focused on altering a negative trait which of course leads to dwelling on all the things that I dislike – not the most positive way to start anything!

This year, I decided that I would like to make some resolutions, but ones focusing on things I’d like to add to my life, particularly those that allow me to learn new things and see more of the world. I’ve only made a handful, although my list is definitely a work in progress and can be added to at any time. So far, they are as follows:

1. Complete Country Walking’s #walk1000miles challenge. I love walking and tend to spend at least one day every weekend with my walking boots on, but I think this challenge will encourage me to do smaller walks during the week as well as push for an extra couple of miles on my long weekend walks. At the very least, I’ll get to discover new parts of the country and it’ll be a great achievement when completed.

2. Learn a new skill. The exact skill is still to be decided (crocheting is currently a strong contender, but I’m open to other suggestions too!) but the general idea is for me to find something new to love and dedicate time to. Ideally, I’d like to learn something that can have a practical use, but I’m equally happy learning something pointless (or at least, pointless to anyone but me) as I’m more interested in finding something new to enjoy than achieving specific results.

3. Plan one ‘special’ day out per month. This one is slightly open to interpretation, but the general aim is to have at least one day per month where we go somewhere new or further afield than we would normally, or a day where we do a favourite walk but prepare a fancy picnic beforehand. I’m hoping this will encourage me to put more thought into what I spend my time doing, as well as always having something to look forward to.

4. Cook a new meal once a fortnight. Other than walking, cooking/baking is one of the things I love the most, but we’re definitely guilty of making the same meals time and time again. This one is Sam’s suggestion, but I’m definitely going to be sticking to it and am looking forward to trying out new recipes (some hopefully with homegrown vegetables…).

5. Visit at least two new places abroad. I definitely don’t class as ‘well travelled’, having only ever been to France, Spain, and Amsterdam (once, for one night only – hardly a chance to really get to know the place) but would love to experience more in 2017. I think the British Isles have so much to offer which has meant that I’ve spent quite a few holidays travelling around the UK, but I’d also really like to explore new cultures and see totally different landscapes. We’re already planning our summer holiday to Norway, but I’d love to sneak another trip in somewhere as well.

I’ve started this blog to document all of the adventures that I have over the coming year and to encourage myself to really keep track of them – I’m hoping that by the end of the year I’ll have a great record of some fantastic memories!

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: And I would walk 500 miles | Year of Adventures

Leave a Reply

