Thunder Snow

There has been much excitement in the South-East this week, as we’ve been subjected to the prospect of ‘thunder snow’! Cue mass hysteria, various weather warnings, and general panic…

Thunder snow actually turned out to be, well, just snow – and not much of it at that. We ended up having a light smattering on Thursday which only managed to stick around until Friday because it froze overnight. It was ever-so-slightly underwhelming, but did make for some nice pictures on Friday morning when I caught the sunrise and notched up another couple of miles on the Downs Link.108_2804.JPG108_2832.JPG108_2845.JPGActually, the weather that had the biggest impact on my week wasn’t the snow, but the rain. The beginning of the week was lovely and I had a couple of great walks with Mum although I forgot to take the camera out with me so have no photos – oops! After that though we had several days of rain and I was surprised to see just how quickly the River Adur responded to the rainfall. The morning following an afternoon/evening of rain resulted in the river overflowing its banks and covering the fields which I really wasn’t expecting as I didn’t think that the rain had been anywhere near heavy enough to cause flooding.108_2866.JPG108_2868.JPGThis meant that most of my usual walking routes were out as the river was up over the footpaths, so I had to go exploring. We live close to a Carthusian monastery, and I decided to head north and find out how much of it I could see from the path. The spire is visible from miles around, but the rest of the building is very well hidden from the road so I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to get a good view. After a couple of frustrating miles where I could only see small glimpses through the trees, I turned a corner and was treated to an unobscured view and it really is very impressive. I’ve heard that the best way to see it is from the air, but I think I’ll be quite happy with what I can see with my feet planted firmly on the ground.108_2907.JPGThe rain may have led to one interesting new walk, but it made for a fairly awful one on Saturday. Sam has had a really busy week at work and hasn’t been able to get out at lunchtimes for a run or walk, and as a result has started to fall behind on miles. He planned a new walk for us just south of Lewes which would have been a good nine miles, but the weather was so atrocious that we called it off after three miles and drove home.108_2922.JPG108_2923.JPGThe walk was made worse as the lovely homemade quiche that I’d packed for our lunch was still frozen, and the parking area recommended by the guidebook had a rather large “Absolutely No Parking” sign by it resulting in a detour to another village to find somewhere more suitable. All in all, it was a rather unsuccessful day! One of the only bright spots – quite literally – was a kingfisher happily diving in the River Ouse. Sadly, my wildlife photography skills are not up to kingfishers (or otters, not that I’ve seen it since the first sighting), but we enjoyed watching it make its way down the river. At least someone didn’t mind the rain! Another point of interest was the church in the small hamlet of Southease which dates from the 12th century and is one of only three in Sussex to be built with a round tower. It also has wall paintings inside which date from the 13th and 14th centuries which I enjoyed looking at while sheltering from a particularly nasty downpour.108_2937.JPG108_2929.JPG108_2931.JPGWe think that the walk itself will be lovely when not tipping down with rain, so we’ll definitely be going back and hopefully managing the whole distance. The weather for this week looks better, so fingers crossed for some better walking over the next few days!

One thought on “Thunder Snow

  1. More beautiful photos despite the weather! At least you’re notching up some very special wildlife on your walks, an otter and a kingfisher and we’re only halfway through the month. Hopefully you’ll be able to claw some miles back if the weather picks up this week – happy walking! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

